American Sociological Association



The search found 1129 results in 0.039 seconds.

Search results

  1. The Opera Fanatic

    Claudio E. Benzecry, (Honorable Mention) for The Opera Fanatic: Ethnography of an Obsession

    How to explain the love for opera? How to analyze how and when a taste becomes a passion? To answer these questions, Claudio Benzecry enters the world of the standing rooms of the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires. Based on a multiyear ethnography, interviews and archival work, The Opera Fanatic analyzes how a cultural product usually considered as esoteric, exclusive, and exclusionary can become a constitutive part of personal identity.

  2. Investing in Equal Opportunity

    Frank Dobbin - Inventing Equal Opportunity - Award Statement

    Equal opportunity in the workplace is thought to be the direct legacy of the civil rights and feminist movements and the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964. Yet, as Frank Dobbin demonstrates, corporate personnel experts—not Congress or the courts—were the ones who determined what equal opportunity meant in practice, designing changes in how employers hire, promote, and fire workers, and ultimately defining what discrimination is, and is not, in the American imagination.

  3. Economists and Societies Award Statement

    Economists and Societies: Discipline and Profession in the United States, Britain, France, 1890s to 1990s

    Marion Fourcade’s Economists and Societies: Discipline and Profession in the United States, Britain, and France, 1890s to 1990s (Princeton University Press, 2009) is comparative-historical sociology at its best. Indeed, it is sociology at its best.

  4. Steven Epstein Award Statement

    Steven Epstein Award Statement

    Inclusion: The Politics of Difference in Medical Research, winner of the American Sociological Association Book Award 2009.

  5. Inheriting the City Award Statement

    Inheriting the City Award Statement

  6. Jerome Karabel Award Statement

    Jerome Karabel Award Statement

  7. Capitalizing on Crisis: the Political Origins of the Rise of Finance

    Greta Krippner

    Capitalizing on Crisis: The Political Origins of the Rise of Finance

  8. Richard Lachmann Award Statement

    Richard Lachmann Award Statement

    This award is presented annually for a single book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years. The winner gives the Sorokin Lecture at a regional or state sociological association.

  9. The Land of Too Much

    Monica Prasad  (co-recipient)

    The Land of Too Much: American Abundance and the Paradox of Poverty

  10. Impossible Engineering

    Chandra Mukerji - Impossible Engineering - Award Statement