American Sociological Association

2019 Program Committee

The Program Committee for the Annual Meeting usually consists of twelve people, four officers and eight appointed members, as outlined below. In years where there is a Secretary-Elect, that person shadows the Secretary and participates in Program Committee meetings.

President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, Secretary, Executive Officer, two carry-over members from the previous year's Program Committee, and six members nominated by the President-Elect and approved by ASA Council.

Each Program Committee plans only one Annual Meeting. The committee is constituted in August two years in advance of the meeting for which it is responsible, and is charged with developing a timely program that will service the diverse discipline of sociology, enhance the meeting theme chosen by the President-Elect, and broaden participation by sociologists in the United States and around the world.


Members of the Program Committee for the 2019 Annual Meeting

Mary Romero, President, Arizona State University

Grace Kao, Vice President, Yale University

David Takeuchi, Secretary, Boston College

Nancy Kidd, Executive Director

Alford Young, University of Michigan

Susan Palmer, Walla Walla Community College

Wendy Leo Moore, Texas A&M University

Pamela Quiroz, University of Houston

Bandana Purkayastha, University of Connecticut

Vinnie J. Roscigno, Ohio State University

Brian Gran, Case Western Reserve University


2019 Pearson
2019 Fordham University
2019 Hofstra