American Sociological Association

Committee on the Executive Office and the Budget (EOB)

The Committee on the Executive Office and Budget (EOB) is responsible for the Executive Office, subject to the policies and directives of the Council, and reports regularly to the Council on these matters. The Committee, in cooperation with the President, the Executive Office, and the chair of the Committee on Publications, annually proposes a budget to Council for the following year. At the end of the first half of each fiscal year, EOB reviews the receipts and expenditures to date and makes any necessary recommendations for adjustment to the budget. EOB also, subject to Council policies, has the responsibility and authority for the investment and reinvestment of funds owned and held by the Association. 

The Committee on the Executive Office and Budget is composed of seven members who include the Secretary, who serves as chair, the President-Elect, the President, the Past-President, and three members appointed by the Council on the recommendation of the Secretary for staggered three-year terms. 

Name Begin End Position
David T. Takeuchi 9/1/2016 8/31/2019 ASA Secretary
Nancy López 9/1/2018 8/31/2019 ASA Secretary-Elect
Eduardo Bonilla-Silva 9/1/2018 8/31/2019 Past ASA President
Mary Romero 9/1/2018 8/31/2019 ASA President
Christine L. Williams 9/1/2018 8/31/2019 ASA President-Elect
Aldon D. Morris 1/1/2017 12/31/2019 Member
C. Matthew Snipp 1/1/2018 12/31/2020 Member
Daniel F. Chambliss 1/1/2019 12/31/2021 Member

Get Involved


ASA needs you to serve the discipline

Join a Section

Explore ASA's community of specialists in the discipline

Join ASA

Join or renew your membership